top of page
  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
Search
  • Writer's pictureThe Hairy Runner

Race Review - Tour of Clydeside, PollokPark 10k

Been a while since I've had the time to be able to do one these but with university looming on the horizon and work almost finished for the summer I thought it would be a good time to get back into posting a few updates now and again.


Last Friday night I traveled through to Glasgow to run the Bella Belter 10k for the first time. The description I was given of the course was flat, fast but challenging.


Taking the terrain and elevation into consideration I was hoping for a sub 37 minute. In training at the moment I have been sitting at 36/37 minute for 7 and 8 km training so I was hopeful in applying that into race conditions.


The evening of the race was a good night with mild temperatures however, just before hitting the start line the clouds opened a large downpour not only soaking the course but everyone waiting to start.


The Race

The course begins just outside the rugby club with a 50m dash before the first corner. After turning through the first few tight winding corners the course enters Pollokpark which is one of the most beautiful settings I've ever seen for a 10k race. The corse is all on tarmac and has few places you can go wrong thanks to the well marshalled route. The route remains true to its description of mainly staying flat however, there are a few long rises which aren't particularly long drags but enough to make you change your cadence and pacing.


The course is 2 loops of the park then back to the rugby club with a fast last kilometre.


It is definitely a course I would recommend for anyone looking for a good time however, the course is definitely a challenging route.


Overall I loved the race and look forward to going back next year.


Final time = 36 mins 48 secs


23 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page