top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureThe Hairy Runner

Race Update - Edinburgh Winter 5k Run

First Race of 2020


The day started with 40mph and ended with smiles. My first race of 2020 which has seemed a long time coming. My last race was back at the end of 2019 and I haven't raced the whole of January giving my legs and body some time to recovery and rest up for a big year planned ahead.


The start of 2020 didn't begin on a high with a few niggles turning into injuries causing my training plans to be altered however, with a bit of nursing and some caring I have managed to get myself back to shape.


Saturday 1st February was my first race and I had chosen the Edinburgh Winter 5km for my first of the season for a few reasons. I don't know how other people plan their race year but I tend to use the starting few months of the year to break into it and allow my body to be ready for the more important races during the summer. The Edinburgh 5k being in February fitted that window perfectly. Another reason was for the course. The course consisted of one lap round Arthur Seat all on the road. This was fab being a road runner and getting to run the iconic route was fabulous.


The morning of the race was horrific weather was gusts of wind up to 40mph and a dash of rain to add to the pain. However, race day is race day no matter what the weather and I was eager to get my first one of 2020 in the bag.


The race went as expected with a decent starting pace and trying to hold a steady pace up the climb to the top knowing that time would be made up on the decent to the finish line. The first 2.5k is flat and then up hill and the later half of the race is all down hill to the finish line. A hard and challenging course but a really rewarding one too.


I loved the race and finished 8th overall and 7th in my category out of over 1000 runners so not too bad to start the year. I would like to say a huge thanks to the organisers and the Marshalls as the race ran (pardon the pun) smooth.


Well done to all runners and I hope the weather is better for next year!


Happy Running !!!!



82 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page